Burdens

036.jpg

Come to me all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest in your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.     Matthew 11:28-30

At first glance, D and I have totally different personalities. She is active, energetic, loud and outgoing, sitting still is something she just does not do. I on the other hand tend to be quiet, love to sit and read and I am somewhat reserved.  But tonight I realized we have more in common than I thought.

Tonight D was trying to walk across the room carrying a laundry basket, a bottle of hair lotion and something else I can’t remember. It was a struggle, she was overloaded. She does this alot, try and carry things that are too heavy, try to go places she can’t get through, make things do what they cannot do. When it does not work, especially when she is tired, she will often break down and cry.  Of course when that happens I try and comfort her, but I also try and show her an easier path.

I am the same way. I pick up this and carry burden that leave me overloaded. I become weighted down with worry, anxiety and stress and try to carry it all myself. Of course after awhile it all gets to be to much and I drop everything and just cry. Or have a pity party in my case.

I made a big mistake when D came home. I let my quiet times and Bible study fall to the wayside of sleep depravation and  fun time with D.  I am getting better. I spend time with D reading the Bible (She listens or chases the cats while I read aloud) and praying ( She folds her hands for about half the prayer and says amen at the end) at night. And we pray to start the day on our way to grandma’s in the morning. I am taking time during lunch breaks at work to do personal study and prayer time. Daily, I am letting the burdens I have been carrying alone rest on the sholders that should have been carrying them all along. I have to do it daily because I try and pick them up and do it myself all to often. I need my Heavenly Father to comfort me because I have been prideful and foolish and overloaded myself. And I need Him to give me rest and show me the better path. Sometimes , just like my little one, I need to be carried.

And an update from yesterday. Dori was up twice last night and it has been proven I can’t function without sleep, I had to change my skirt at mom’s because I had it on inside out.

About Beth

I am Jesus lover and single mom.
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Burdens

  1. Lisa M. says:

    Hey. Jen told me to read all about you. You inspire me. You are strong and beautiful. Keep pushing into Christ.

Leave a Reply

