September 11, 2007

September 11 is a day of mixed emotions for me. For my country, I mourn. Will any of us ever forget the tragedy that unfolded before us six years ago?  My heart aches for the loved ones lost, those left behind and the new reality of terrorist threat.

At the same time, across the world, my daughter’s homeland celebrates the dawn of a new millennium. Ethiopia is on a different calendar so today was the start of 2000 for them. For Ethiopia I pray that God will be a Father to the fatherless, the Great Physician for those who are ill, and the Provider to those who are in need and that joy would abound as you celebrate this New Year. Happy Ethiopian New Year!!!

I also have a special prayer for a young woman of Ethiopia. Today marks the one year date on D’s admittance papers. One year ago today, a mother gave her child a new hope for the New Year. There are not many days that go by that I do not think about D’s Ethiopian mother. My heart breaks that I live in a world that, to save her child, a mother must say goodbye.  As a mother myself now, I cannot imagine the pain and heartbreak. Where ever she is I just want to reach out and let her know her daughter is thriving. She is healthy, she is loved and she is learning about Jesus.  I pray if D and her mom are never reunited in this life that we one day might all celebrate together in heaven.

So, with mixed emotions I say goodbye to September 11, mourning what has gone behind and celebrating the hope that lies ahead.

About Beth

I am Jesus lover and single mom.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Daily Dori. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

