Pure Joy

 001.jpg

I had plans last week to see the Ethiopian dance troupe, Mesgana, as well as several other things. Unfortunately, my plans were disrupted when Miss D developed a fever that lasted the better part of three days. This was only the second time D has been sick since coming home. The first was shortly after her arrival. It is when D is sick that I am reminded how helpless I am to protect her sometimes. At three in the morning as she burns with fever, there is little I could do but bath her, give her medicine and pray she feels better. I could not fix her, no matter how much I wanted to. As I think about it, there are so many things I will not be able to protect her from. The challenges she will face being of a different race from me, the pain of not having a dad, and the ordinary aches and pains she will face that are just a part of life. It makes me want to find the bubble wrap, to protect her, but the reality is that those changes will make her grow. It is those times that I fail to make it right that she will have to rely on God. It is my job to sooth as best I can and then pray that her Heavenly Father will be her strength and peace. Just as He healed her fever, there will be times that he will need to heal her heart. And just as I tried not to worry about all the things that could be causing a fever, I try not worry about all the things that could damage her heart.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds. James 1:2

About Beth

I am Jesus lover and single mom.
This entry was posted in Daily Dori, Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pure Joy

  1. Blaine says:

    I’m sorry to hear that Miss D was feeling poorly. We have had our share lately too. I have my 2nd kid home with chicken pox, and am just praying the other 3 don’t end up with it. All of this started with my husband getting a case of shingles. See what 22 days in a 31′ RV with 7 people and a dog will do to a Dad?!?!

    I am way late in getting around to this, but I wanted to thank you for lunch the week of our girls’ birthdays. Not only did they get to mark that milestone with an Ethiopian friend, but I really enjoyed hanging out with MY friend too. By the way, Grace LOVES the toy you gave her. It goes everywhere with us. Good job!

    Since we are essentially living our lives in a state of quarantine for the unforseeable future, give me a call when you have a few minutes, and we can catch up on the rest of the crazy details that make up our lives. 8^)

Leave a Reply

