Thanksgiving

img_0150.gif

It was with a very grateful heart that I celebrated the Thanksgiving holiday this year. While last year I was waiting for the results of a court date, this year I celebrated Dori’s first Thanksgiving with a joyful heart.  Most of the family gathered at mom’s house and as always the food and fellowship were good. One of the best parts of this Thanksgiving was the beautiful dress mom made Dori. I made her wear a tee shirt over it to eat dinner ( I was mocked ) but she still managed to get mashed potatoes all over her.

The day after Thanksgiving Dori and I went shopping. Yes, we were part of that crazy crowd but when you are up at 6 AM the day after Thanksgiving you might as well shop anyway. We were only at the mall for about an hour. Dori liked to watch all the people and look at the decorations.  We were only out for the fun of it and I had no high pressure shopping goals. I usually wear Dori when we go shopping so it limits my capacity to carry other things and to stay for too long. The rest of the day was spilt between home and grandma’s. I even got some scrapbook pages done during nap time.

 Saturday was a potluck with other Ethiopian adoptive families. It was great to be able to meet with other families and meet some new friends.

Sunday we were able to get the house picked up and set up our Christmas tree. Yes, I have a fake tree. Last year I would have told you there was no way I would get a fake tree, but faced with the reality of trying to buy, transport set up and light a tree with Dori “helping”,  I chose a pre-lit 7-foot tree. So far Dori has been distracted by the ornaments that have not made it onto the tree that she has not taken the tree apart. I am sure that will change in the future. All in all the tree looks nice and we will be able to enjoy it  through Christmas. 

So altogether we had a busy and productive weekend and I have much to be thankful for.

About Beth

I am Jesus lover and single mom.
This entry was posted in Daily Dori. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving

  1. AJ says:

    Remembered you were mocked in love.

    Your family appreciates the “protection” of a dress that will only be worn once.

Leave a Reply

