One of Those Days

Saturday evening we went to the beach. We have done this a couple of times this summer. We get to the beach about 4:00 after naps. We don’t have to worry about too much sun but it is still warm enough to enjoy the waves. Last night we stayed until about seven and after a couple of stops did not get home until around 8:30.  Now although the main purpose of a trip to the beach is fun, a side benefit is a sleepy kid and maybe sleeping in until on Sunday. Alas that was not the case. Dori crossed that dreaded line into too tired territory. She was up four times in the night and awake at 5:30. Despite my best efforts she only took an hour and a half long nap. And she was tired all day long. And I was tired all day long.

Now, there are times that Dori is tired and she is just awful. She cries, she talks back, I say white and she says black, she throws thing and bites. No coxing or redirecting work she is just ornery. She was like this for most of the day. At one point, I was on the phone and she was yelling at me, “Go to time away!”  This day was exhausting. Days like today that make me glad for her normal sweet, smiley self.  SI think I would go crazy if she was like this all the time. She finally crashed at about 6:45 and I am praying for a good night’s sleep. My last words to her were grumpy something along the lines of lay down and go to sleep.  

Now that she is asleep so peacefully, I have regrets. I should have been more patient and less stressed. To try for a better day tomorrow, I have everything ready for the morning, so that we can have a smooth start to the week.  I am heading to bed in a minute to catch up on my sleep. And  I am  thankful for the promise of a better day tomorrow.

About Beth

I am Jesus lover and single mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

