If You Were At My House Tonight…

You would understand why my house is a wreck and I am exhausted. 

For instance after she used the the toilet, I found Dori precariously perched on the overturned bathroom wastebasket, hot water on, ready to wash her hands. Uncertain whether to scold her for dumping trash or applaud her ingenuity, I repositioned the can so she would not fall, turned off the hot water, turned on the cold and gave her a count of ten to wash her hands. I also made her pick up the trash, which of course canceled out the whole washing the hands in the first place. Does anyone else feel like they live in an “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie” book?

After picking up the laundry basket that had fallen mysteriously down the stairs again while Dori was going up, (“Mommy, the basket fall.” – that darn basket), I herd her upstairs for bed. As I gathered all the necessary paraphernalia needed for a successful bedtime, she started playing basket ball with the bathroom sink. This game entailed throwing the ball in the sink, dumping a plastic container full of sheets (Are you seeing a theme?) then turning it over to stand on to retrieve the ball. The first time I am almost certain the ball in the sink was an accident. The third time I threatened to take away the ball if it ended up in the sink again while silently just being relieved she did not use the toilet. Maybe a basket ball hoop for Christmas is in order?

The thing is, this was a good night. She ate dinner good, helped pick up her hair things she spilled all over without complaining and of course the trash. She sang me a turkey song she must have learned at school and “read” a book to herself out loud (This is relatively new and so cute when she does it). She was in a good mood and a delight tonight and I love her to pieces.

My house is a wreck and I am exhausted.

I would not have it any other way.

About Beth

I am Jesus lover and single mom.
This entry was posted in Daily Dori. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If You Were At My House Tonight…

  1. Lisa says:

    LOL! I can relate already and it looks like it is only going to get more crazy around here! I feel like I should weigh 10 less pounds with all of the running around and picking up I do after her! You’re right though,, I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Leave a Reply

