To Bed, To Bed, To Bed, Please Just Go To Bed

When she was an infant Dori would fall asleep with little problem. She woke ten times in the night but falling asleep – a couple of pats and she was out. Then she decided the world was a fun and exciting place. She did not want to sleep through any of it. She will take a nap pretty well but at night she fights again the forces of sleep. I know part of it is my fault. I started to lay down with her. Then she started taking HOURS to go to sleep. She has this ability to lay very still for twenty minutes and then pop up wide awake. It drives me crazy.

We have the same pre bed routine every night, three books, Bible story and prayers. After that it should be go right to sleep. Except she does not. I have tried most everything – an earlier bedtime (maybe she’s overtired), a later bed time (not tired enough), her bed, my bed, reading books by herself, a movie, music, light noise, warm milk, laying with her, rocking her, singing, I even warmed up baby oil and rubbed her back with it (that worked great the first time relaxed her and put her out – but the next time she was twisting and fighting the effect). I even did the supper nanny ignore thing. I must not have done it right because it had no effect.  Let just tell you now -no one’s super duper work every time method works on my kid.

I have come to the realization that the bedtime struggle is just part of Dori’s personality. She wants to be doing, especially if other people are doing. I may just have to say “Go to bed” a hundred times a night.  And she will want a kiss, a hug, a chuck (tuck), a drink, a potty or anything else she  can think of ( in desperate times she tells me she needs her hair done) a hundred times. There is no easy answer, there will be tears, there will be whining but in the end there will be sleep.

About Beth

I am Jesus lover and single mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Bed, To Bed, To Bed, Please Just Go To Bed

  1. maliasmama says:

    Um, you sure that’s DORI??? Sounds like Malía in EVERY way! But, mine does go in phases- sometimes she conks immediately.
    Now, I am grateful that, unlike her firt almost 2 years of life, at least she stays asleep 90% of the time until morning (6pm- ugh!)
    hang in, mama. It’s all we can do!

Leave a Reply

