In the In Between

 

Long ago, when I was only thinking of adopting maybe someday, I bought the book Shaoey and Dot by Steve and Beth Chapman. Back then I assumed China would be where I would start my family. Little did I know my road would lead to Africa.

Last night Dori pulled the book from our infinite stack of children’s reading material. As I read the story of a little abandoned baby and a lady bug who watches over her I could not help but choke up. I struggled through the book holding back tears for my baby who once had no mother to watch over her, for the mother who said goodbye, and for all the children and parents who are or have ever been caught in the in between.  The in between is the hard part; the in between wanting a child and seeing your child, the in between that first picture and that first meeting, the in between losing one family and becoming another, the in between becoming and belonging.

My heart is with those caught in the in between. May you find peace in the process and strength to take that next step knowing what is beyond is so much better than the in between.

About Beth

I am Jesus lover and single mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

