To My Little Dancer

Dear Dori,

We have just finished your very first weekend of performing. Three days, two performances a day, two dances at each performance. With each call to line up you bounded to the door with excitement and energy, whether it was 11 in the morning or seven at night. You loved the stage.  You are a natural, no stage fright, no nervousness, just enthusiasm and delight. I know from personal experience you were delightful on stage. I know from the comments of others that I was not the only one who thought so. 

But it was behind the scenes that really made me proud. Eighteen hours with eighteen other little girls and their moms. Each one of them you consider to be a friend. Together we navigated our way through little diva battles and tired princess meltdowns. You did such a great job of calming yourself down when you needed to and obeying when you did not want too. It was sometimes tough being the littlest dancer.  The littlest can sometimes be a pest even though all you want to do is play with the big girls. It is hard to watch your little heart get hurt when you cannot play their games and they do not want to play yours but we got through it with grace. You were so generous sharing your food crafts and movies. And your memory is short when it comes to hurt feelings, a mean girl becomes a friend minutes later if you find your common ground.

We have a lot of people to thank. This is only possible because grandma stayed with you through countless rehearsals as I had to work. Aunt Katie got us into this in the first place. Last winter her Nutcracker performance wet your whistle, introducing you to the world of dance. This weekend she sweetly applied your eye makeup with each performance. Your sparkly eyelids and long lustrous lashes painted with mascara made you feel extra fancy. And getting to visit the big dancers’ dressing room was a special treat. Aunt Pam deserves a medal for filling in as stage mom as I got to watch you dance. Papa was able to bring your pajamas and dinner when we needed it. Aunt Juli, Sarah, Aunt Jenny, Uncle Matt, Papa, grandma, Miss Shelley, Daisy and Aunt Pam were all there to cheer you on and confirm your talent. Our support system really came through for us in the last couple of weeks. Thanks guys!!

You have put me in a hard place. I went into this weekend sure we would not do this again. It is a lot of time, money and effort and you are very little. But this weekend you were a trouper. Each time I told there was something you needed to do you did it.  You love being on stage. Your favorite part was the curtain call.  You have given me no excuse to say no the next time around.

 Dori, I am proud of you. You are my bright and shining star, not because you are as cure as a button sashaying around stage but because you are bright and strong and beautiful when you are off the stage. You are beautiful inside and out. I love you – you are the best!!!

About Beth

I am Jesus lover and single mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To My Little Dancer

  1. Aunty Jenny says:

    Beth & Dori I support you! Encore! Encore! It’s been a few years since I went to the ballet. I hate ballet but watching you this weekend filled my heart & made me want to come back for more. I really hate the nutcracker but if your on I’ll be there.
    Love you

Leave a Reply

