Finally

Under the category better late than never, Dori’s readoption was completed this morning. I got a little choked up but was mostly just relieved it is done. Grandma, Papa and Aunt Jenny came with us. I did not make a big deal out of this because  I did not want Dori to get nervous.  I filed the paperwork a couple of months ago. I used my homestudy, my last post placement report and the adoption paperwork and birth certificate from Ethiopia. No one at the courthouse I filed at had a clue as to whether I had the right paperwork or not and I was certain I would be told to come back with this or that piece of information or paperwork. I was also nervous that I did not get all the  eye make up off  Dori last night and I would be found unfit because I put mascara on a three-year old. But once again my worries were for not. It went smooth as silk and the only problem was my inability to fill out the birth certificate form correctly. I had to do it twice because I put my info in the wrong place. In fifteen short months I should receive a new birth certificate and then I can start the citizenship process. The paperwork just never ends does it. But for now my procrastination is over and I have proof from the great state of California that Dori is adopted.

 

Celebrating with some chocolate! Yummy!

About Beth

I am Jesus lover and single mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finally

  1. Harmony says:

    Woo hoo!!! COngratulations!!

  2. Aunty Jenny says:

    Thank you Beth and Dori for letting me be there. I got teary eyed when they Judge said you are legally mother and daughter. I have video of it I will send your way soon.
    Love you both!

  3. Debbie says:

    Congratz! 15 months sure is a long time to wait on a piece of paper.

Leave a Reply

