Making Up

Before Dori could sit on her own, I would place her on the counter in a bouncy seat to watch as I plastered my face with war paint for the day. Foundation, blush, mascara, lipstick, ect. in varying combinations and speeds went on each day. Over time a bit of lip gloss, a brush of blush or a cotton ball with moisturizer included Dori in my morning ritual.

Recently, my response to requests for make-up has been harsh. NO, four year olds do NOT wear eye shadow to church. No you CANNOT have perfume this morning. I forgot the root of these requests and the need to take the time to include. It is so much easier when they are little and not fighting you for independence when you are just trying to get out the door.  

I included make up from Luna Organics to Dori’s stocking last Christmas. She loves it, it is safe, doesn’t irritate her skin and it has lasted much longer than I thought possible.  I picked out some more for Dori’s Easter basket this year and I am adding some children’s perfume as well.  She will not be wearing eye shadow to church but a little lip gloss is fine. And maybe today, when we both have the day off, we will both put on a little war paint to start the day.  It is not about growing up to fast or just wanting her own way, it about being included in my world and being part of my day.

About Beth

I am Jesus lover and single mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

