Saying Goodbye

My soul is weary with sorrow; strengthen me according to your word. (Psalm 119:28)

 

If you were here I would tell you about the cute Strawberry Shortcake show Dori has started watching. That perky little character riding around on her motorbike reminds me of you. I would tell you Dori has to see the eye doctor next week. She might need glasses. I would tell you about stuff at work and plans at home.

You would tell me about Daisy and Gage and Mike and students at school.

We would exchange bad mommy confessions and both feel better.

We would make plans for teas or blueberry picking or going to the beach.

 I might remember the drive of pictures I owe you from December. You might remember the CD of pirate songs you were going to get me. And when we both forgot it would be OK. Because you’re a working mom and I am a working mom and there would be another day.

Except now you are not here.

You are one of the greatest gifts God gave me. You supported me in a hundred different ways for so long. I hope you know how much I treasured you.  Five days in and I still can’t believe there will not be another day, at least not for a while.

 Digging into God’s word with you for all those years I know you are with Jesus, free of this imperfect world, full of His perfect joy. Until the day I get to see you again I will miss you my friend. I’ll do my best to keep an eye on Daisy and Gage. I’ll make sure Daisy stays supplied with bows. I will reach out to those you hold in your heart. I will live with less fear. I will take the time to show I care. I will live.

Thank you for being my person. Thank you for being my friend. Thank you for loving my daughter so much. I love you. Good bye.

About Beth

I am Jesus lover and single mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saying Goodbye

  1. Harmony says:

    So sorry for your loss 😦

Leave a Reply

