On Mother’s Day

 

I have no idea what it means to wait nine months anticipating the birth of your child. I imagine it must be just as exciting and terrifying as filling out paperwork, having your life examined and waiting for someone across the world to determine your fate. I remember as if it were yesterday a quiet Christmas morning reading Mary’s words as she learned she would be a mother. I felt a certain kinship with her as I anticipated meeting my daughter for the first that early morning in Addis.

I do not know if it is the same with biological moms but I have cherished being a mom. It has become my passion and my purpose. I came so close to never taking the steps to adopt. It was truly a leap of faith. My life would have certainly been easier and I would not have been unhappy, but I would have passed by the most precious of gifts. I am so thankful that I get to be Dori’s mom; that God put Dori and me together to be family.

I am also so thankful for my mom. The kid count in our family varies when you add in foster kids and close friends. The low number is eight. Being a mom I have learned it is sometimes a thankless and difficult job. I am impressed that my mom has survived let alone done all she has done. She is Dori’s second mom when I am away at work and we are blessed beyond measure that she is ours.

As I praise God for the blessings he has poured on my life, my prayers are also with those who approach this holiday with mourning. My Dori loves me but she also knows there is another mom that she misses and wants to know. My father lost his mom at a young age and he mourns fifty years later. Dori bears her name. There are two precious little ones I love who will grow up without their mom. Mother’s day comes within weeks of the anniversary of her death. A dear friend’s mother is currently so engulfed in darkness that she has spent the past several years trying to drag her daughter and two young granddaughters down with her. Mother’s Day is not always a day of celebration, but the grace of God provides the light in the dark.

Mother’s Day like most of our time on this earth is a mix of blessing and heartache. Those of us celebrating our blessings are allowed to rejoice in God’s goodness. We can also mourn with those who mourn, support them in their loss and pray for God’s peace on all of the hard days. We can show compassion. We can show love. After all we are moms- that’s our job.

About Beth

I am Jesus lover and single mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

